Skip to content

Science, Technology, Engineering and Math

STEM – Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics

STEM is the term used to group together these academic disciplines. The United States has been a global leader, for the large part, through the hard work and innovative work of scientists, engineers, and innovators. As our world continues to become increasingly complex, where success is measured and defined not only by what you know, but also by what you can do, it is more important than ever that students are equipped with the knowledge, skills and expertise to solve complex problems, gather and evaluate, and make sense of information. These are the skills that students in STEM learn.

LCC’s STEM Programs prepare students for technical positions in STEM fields and offers a direct pathway for advanced STEM degrees at other four-year institutions. See our STEM
Advisors or any of the individual program advisors for more information on STEM opportunities that await you here at Luna Community College.

Contact Information

Director

Francisco Apodaca 505-454-2510 x1200 fapodaca@luna.edu

ACE Lab Coordinator

Raymond Varela 505-454-5306 x1053 rvarela@luna.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Bruce McAllister bmcallister@luna.edu
Dan Gonzales dgonzales@luna.edu
Isabelle Gallegos igallegos@luna.edu
Joe Baca jbaca@luna.edu
Mark Grohman mgrohman@luna.edu
Victor Cordova vcordova@luna.edu

Administrative Assistant

Amanda Tapia-Benavidez 505-454-5370 x1051 atapia@luna.edu

Faculty

Angie Manafy 505-454-2529 x1027 amanafy@luna.edu
Betsy Sanchez 505-454-2554 x1033 bsanchez@luna.edu
Christina Lovato clovato@luna.edu
Geno Castillo 505-454-5304 x1057 gcastillo@luna.edu
Lefonso Castillo lcastillo@luna.edu
Nichole Collins 505-454-5371 x1050 ncollins@luna.edu
Rachel Lucero 505-454-5395 x1068 rlucero@luna.edu
Rita Surdi 505-454-2587 x1052 rsurdi@luna.edu

Faculty Advisor

Janice Varela 505-454-2537 x1024 jvarela@luna.edu
Yvonne Valentine yvalentine@luna.edu

Tutor

Auritha Roybal aroybal@luna.edu
Desirre Herrera dherrera@luna.edu
Vanetia Gonzales vgonzales@luna.edu